Academic Advisory Council

The Academic Advisory Council provides the Centre for Common Law with strategic advice. It has ten members, split equally between the British and Chinese sides, and chosen for their deep knowledge and their eminence within the legal systems of both countries.

The council is led by two joint presidents, both former presidents of the UK Supreme Court and Chinese Supreme People’s Court respectively: Lord Phillips of Worth Matravers and Mr Xiao Yang.


The inaugural meeting of the CCL Academic Advisory Council, 25 November 2016, Beijing.

UK side

  • Lord Phillips of Worth Matravers, former President of the UK Supreme Court, former Lord Chief Justice of England and Wales
  • Sir Jeffrey Jowell QC, Founding Director of the Bingham Centre for the Rule of Law
  • Professor Timothy Endicott, Professor at and former Dean of University of Oxford Faculty of Law
  • Marina Wheeler QC, Barrister, 1 Crown Office Row
  • Professor Michael Palmer, Emeritus Professor at the School of Oriental and African Studies

Chinese side

  • Mr XIAO Yang, former President of the Supreme People’s Court of China
  • Mr HU Yunteng, President of the 2nd Circuit Court and Research Director of the Supreme People’s Court
  • Mr WANG Chenguang, Professor and former Dean of Tsinghua University Law School
  • Mr ZHANG Wenxian, Vice-Chairman of China Law Society and Senior Professor in Philosophy and Social Sciences at Jilin University
  • Mr ZHU Jingwen, Professor at Renmin University Law School